Leslie Cook

Unemployment: Weeks 9 & 10

In Family, LinkedIn, Palm Springs, Travel, Unemployment on September 20, 2011 at 8:02 am

I just got back from a very nice week in Palm Springs, tanned and ready to continue job hunting. Actually, my job hunt continued on the road, and, frankly, I had very successful phone conversations last week while wandering around Palm Desert with my mom and Norm. I’ve come to the conclusion that recruiters and HR personnel only begin looking for people on Thursday and Friday. The early parts of every week seem to be vast wastelands as far as job prospects go, however, beginning Thursday, the emails and phone calls pick up.

Week 9 was fairly uneventful. I sent away the usual number of resumes into the black hole they call the internet. One high spot was the lunch I had with friends. About 10 of us met up for a really nice lunch at Lucille’s and I got the latest update on the happenings at the former workplace. It was fun seeing everyone. I guess the one thing I miss the most about unemployment is not seeing my friends every day. We spend so much time with the people we work with that they really become family. One of my fears is that, when I get a new job, I’ll lose touch with my friends from the last job. I hope it doesn’t happen. The great thing is that now we have Facebook. I may not see them in person, but I’ll know what they’re up to.

I also had a meeting with my career counselor which was kind of fun. Mostly we took a look at my Linked In account. He wants me to add more contacts. I’m adding them as fast as I can, but I just can’t bring myself to troll around for random people. I’m sure I’ll get over that eventually.

Week 10 was spent in Palm Springs shopping and visiting neighborhoods and random open houses. My mom really, really, REALLY wants to retire in Palm Springs, which isn’t a problem for any of us kids. What mom doesn’t seem to realize is that, when she moves, she’s not taking us all with her. I’m trying to convince her to find a nice retirement community, or at least a nice close-knit neighborhood to move into. I also suggested that she rent a place before she buys a house so that she’ll know what it’s really like to live there. She, of course, is stubborn. She has an idea in her head about what she wants and how life will be once she moves. I suspect that life won’t be what she imagines. For one thing, all of her kids live somewhere else. She’ll lose her kid support network. I suspect that, in her head, she thinks that we’re all moving to Palm Springs with her. In reality, we all have our lives to live and can’t uproot ourselves to move (even though it would be fun). We’ll see how it all turns out. I suspect that part of the fun for my mom is house hunting. She may spend the rest of her life looking for the perfect house!

Late last week (Thursday and Friday), my phone lit up with prospects. I talked to 4 or 5 recruiters about possible jobs. Some seem perfect, some not so perfect. I tend to say “let’s talk” to all of them and then put my cards on the table. As a result of these calls, I have 1 recruiter interview, 1 phone interview, and 1 interview with a hiring manager. For resume was sent off to the others. We’ll see how it all turns out. Wish me luck.

  1. I found your site on Google and read a few of your other entires. Nice Stuff. I’m looking forward to reading more from you.

Leave a Reply

